New Covid Variant Sparks Journey Curbs — These Nations Have Barred Flights From Southern Africa

New Delhi: Amid worldwide concern over the brand new coronavirus variant B.1.1.529, dozens of nations imposed restrictions on journey to and from South Africa and neighboring nations on Friday. Scientists stated the fast-spreading B.1.1.529 variant may very well be extra contagious and render Covid-19 vaccines much less efficient. Aside from South Africa, circumstances of the B.1.1.529 variant has been detected in Israel, Botswana and Hong Kong.

The variant is a explanation for concern due to its excessive variety of mutations and fast transmission amongst younger folks, AP reported. 

A number of international locations, together with European Union nations, which are nonetheless recovering from the financial impression of harsh lockdowns and had been opening slowly have began placing again journey restrictions. India has directed states to carefully display and check travellers coming from or transiting by way of South Africa, Botswana and Hong Kong.

These Are The Nations That Have Put Journey Restrictions:

  • Britain: The UK has imposed journey restrictions on arrivals from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Namibia beginning Friday. Non-UK and Irish residents who’ve been within the six African international locations within the earlier 10 days will probably be refused entry into England. A short lived ban on industrial and personal planes travelling from the six international locations can even come into pressure.
  • Israel: Israel had already added South Africa and 6 different African international locations to its “red list”. It imposed a 14-day quarantine for Israelis coming again to the nation from these nations.
  • Italy: Authorities in Italy banned entry to those that have been in South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia or Swaziland up to now fortnight.  
  • Germany and Scotland have additionally joined Britain in banning journey to 6 African nations. France has additionally suspended all flights coming from southern Africa for 48 hours, French Well being Minister Olivier Veran instructed Reuters.
  • Singapore: The Well being Ministry stated all non-Singaporeans and other people with out everlasting residency within the metropolis who’ve latest journey historical past to the seven African international locations can be barred from getting into or transiting by way of Singapore. The brand new restrictions, which is able to take impact from Sunday, apply to South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe. Singapore residents and foreigners holding everlasting resident standing arriving from these international locations should endure a 10-day quarantine, AFP reported.

Supply hyperlink

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *